IF YOU WERE A REVERT…(Q59:10)


Narrated `Abdullah bin `Umar (RA), the Messenger of Allah(SAW) said, “A Muslim is a brother of another Muslim, so he should not oppress him, nor should he hand him over to an oppressor. Whoever fulfilled the needs of his brother, Allah will fulfill his needs; whoever brought his (Muslim) brother out of a discomfort, Allah will bring him out of the discomforts of the Day of Resurrection, and whoever screened a Muslim, Allah will screen him on the Day of Resurrection . “- Sahih al-Bukhari 2442

I recently heard of a revert who would refuse to cover her hair and pray when she and her husband had a fight. I found it quite amusing, to put it mildly.

I often admire the bravery of reverts though, and I am easily impressed when they make a little effort because in my humble opinion, Islam is not the easiest of religions to follow especially with increasing global islamophobia.

So, I’ve got a question:

If you were a revert, what aspect(s) of Islam would you find the most difficult to inculcate?


I would love you to share your thoughts so that when next we see a revert striving to be better, we would appreciate them more, encourage them, correct them kindly and be less judgmental.

14 thoughts on “IF YOU WERE A REVERT…(Q59:10)

  1. Loubnanya says:

    What a good idea, this post. Full of respect 😉
    I actually am a revert, & i would say that was the most difficult for me to accept was to wear the Hijab because I was realy shy & cared a lot about what people thought about me. & hated to be stared at! But alhamdoulillah today My hijab is a part of me.
    Also, I must admit I’m afraid that my children find Islam too severe, I think it’s a big challenge for us, muslims parents, to raise our children in the Love of Allah & not only in His fear.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks for sharing, Loubnanya. Donning the hijab is such a heart-thumping decision. I hope we can be more encouraging to sisters at the beginning of their hijab journeys.

      As a parent, I fear that too. I think the key is to begin gradually from their earlier years than waiting till they are older and more likely to resist. May Allah help us in our quest.

      Like

    • Hmm…never thought of the making friends aspect; thank you for pointing that out. With respect to being judged, I think that is a general human flaw though. Many people are stigmatized based on their appearance so I don’t think it is a Muslim thing per se

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Personally, getting the courage to say “I need to pray” is the most difficult for me in various situations. This is the case around Muslims and non-Muslims. I fear the comments, where Muslims think I’m too religious or non-Muslims worry I’m being radicalized.

    Balancing family with Deen is also incredibly difficult, especially when your family is a Fox News family.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree with you about taking excuse to pray. Sometimes, it’s best to simply excuse yourself without saying why. May Allah continue to purify our intentions.
      LOL @ Fox News family. They really need to stop watching that!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Additionally, being corrected by born-Muslims on my choice to be called a “convert” instead of “revert” is a challenge in and of itself. This post carries a lot of my personal decision on the word choice. Additionally, I feel that “revert” could be used to describe born-Muslims who reclaim their faith, or those who were born into non-practicing families. Convert is the only word that describes a full transition.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

