LET ME BE BETTER Q7:51

I hope to be self-employed someday. I would also like to be able to employ a couple of individuals to work with me, but I worry about my quality of leadership when the time comes.

You see, I have not had any role models in terms of entrepreneurship. So far, my bosses have not been terrific. I fear there’s something that strips away niceness before one can attain success in this world. It’s like there is a door that one enters and his soul and humanity is snatched away in exchange for accomplishment. Do these big guys have a clue about how their actions affect lives? Are they aware of how they hurt and oppress people? How do they sleep at night? Do they not fear the repercussions of their actions?


I wish to have a wonderful establishment that my employees will be so happy to work in that they will look forward to resuming work each morning. I will respect them and be kind to them but be firm and get the work done. I will know their children by name and have a nursery for mothers to attend to their infants. They will have free medical care or medical insurance, discounts on company products, paid maternity and paternity leave, generous allowances and bonuses…

And then it begins to seem like a politician’s manifesto.

When we gripe about how terrible our boss is (at different places I have worked), I always make a mental note to not be like that but man is indeed forgetful. Now, I have a little notebook in which I note my observations. I like to believe Allah has placed me under such bosses to appreciate how difficult employers make the lives of their employees and to warn me not to behave likewise. When I become a boss, I should ensure my life reflects the teachings of Islam.

Abu Hurairah (R.A.) reported Allah’s Messenger (SAW) as saying:
Verily, Allah, the Exalted and Glorious, would say on the Day of Resurrection: O son of Adam, I was sick but you did not visit Me.
He would say: O my Lord, how could I visit You when You are the Lord of the Worlds?
Thereupon He would say: Didn’t you know that such and such servant of Mine was sick but you did not visit him and were you not aware of this, that if you had visited him, you would have found Me by him?
O son of Adam, I asked food from you but you did not feed Me.
He would say: My Lord, how could I feed You when You are the Lord of the worlds?
He said: Didn’t you know that such and such servant of Mine asked food from you but you did not feed him, and were you not aware that if you had fed him you would have found him by My side?
O son of Adam, I asked drink from you but you did not provide Me.
He would say: My Lord, how could I provide You when You are the Lord of the worlds?
Thereupon He would say: Such and such of servant of Mine asked you for a drink but you did not provide him, and had you provided him drink you would have found him near Me.

I can only pray and yearn desperately for my prayer to be answered: may I never forget where I came from.

I shall be better than my bosses, in sha Allah!

What improvements would you like to see at your workplace? Please, share your thoughts.

2 thoughts on “LET ME BE BETTER Q7:51

  1. Do not doubt your leadership qualities. Once you’re at the helm of a ship, you may make a couple of mistakes but you’ll be able to guide the ship.

    And, some positions make you look back, being a boss is one. They need to get the work done and not everyone in the team is equally eager, hence the nature of boss.

    And, Amen.

    Like

Leave a Reply

